

MINUTES of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held on THURSDAY 30 NOVEMBER 2023 at 5.00pm at Laing O'Rourke, 825 Ann Street, Fortitude Valley

1. PRESENT

General Members (Executive)

Acciona David Balmer
 Bielby Adam Edwards
 BMD Terry Waterson
 CMC Grant Christensen
 Clough/Webuild Jacob Latter
 CPB Contractors Gerry van der Wal
 Decmil Simon Barnes

8. Fulton Hogan Brett Smiley, Andrew Ross

9. Georgiou Sean Donald
10. Ghella Dominic Byrne
11. John Holland Natasha Roy
12. Laing O'Rourke Hollie Hynes
13. Martinus Ryan Baden
14. McConnell Dowell Ryan Dodd

15. Seymour Whyte Will MacDonald, Steve O'Brien

Associate Members

HWL Ebsworth Ross Williams

Honorary Members

Craig Porter

Non-Members

Andrew Chapman ARC Strategic Solutions CEO
Lorelei Broadbent Agenda Management Secretariat

APOLOGIES

MinterEllison, Peter Lyons

The Chair confirmed that a quorum was present, ie at least 15 members, and opened the meeting at 5.00pm.

2. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

Moved D Balmer, seconded R Baden, that the minutes of the QMCA Annual General Meeting held on 17 November 2022, are a true and correct record of the business of the meeting. Carried.

3. 2023 ANNUAL REPORT

The 2023 Annual Report, as circulated prior to the meeting and published on the website, was taken as read. The CEO mentioned highlights including: the events program (interesting topics and good attendances); Young Construction Professionals initiative; QMPPR (965 attendees across four events); continue to return a financial surplus (\$120,000 last financial year); working with SunWater and UQ to create a Dam Construction Centre of Excellence; planning a Jobs & Skills Summit and the second Technology Forum in 2024.

Moved A Edwards, seconded W MacDonald, that the 2023 Annual Report be received and adopted. Carried.

4. PRESENTATION OF 2022-2023 FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The signed audited financial statements to 30 June 2023, as circulated prior to the meeting, were taken as read. Moved N Roy, seconded T Waterson, that the financial report for the



period 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023 be received and the auditor's report be accepted. Carried unanimously. C Porter commented on the great result and commended the Board for that.

5. <u>APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR FOR 2023-2024</u>

Moved T Waterson, seconded S Donald, that Accru Rawsons Chartered Accountants be appointed as the Association's accountants and auditors for the 2023-2024 year. Carried.

6. ELECTION OF 2024 BOARD

Under the Rules of the Association, there is a requirement to have an election for the Board positions each year. Nominations were called for the four office bearer positions of Chair, Deputy Chair, Secretary and Treasurer and for the 12 Board positions.

Nominations for the Board

Ten nominations were received from eligible member companies for membership of the QMCA 2024 Board. Given that the number of nominations is less than the number of positions available (12), the persons nominated for each position are declared elected as:

Ryan Baden – Martinus Simon Barnes – Decmil Dominic Byrne – Ghella Grant Christensen - CMC Ryan Dodd – McConnell Dowell Sean Donald – Georgiou Jacob Latter – Clough/Webuild Stephen O'Brien – Seymour Whyte Andrew Ross – Fulton Hogan Gerry van der Wal – CPB Contractors

Nominations for the Position of Officer

Given only one nomination was received the following were declared elected:

Chair David Balmer Acciona
Deputy Chair Adam Edwards Bielby
Secretary Terry Waterson BMD

Treasurer Natasha Roy John Holland

7. OTHER BUSINESS

C Porter mentioned concern about the how industry is taken in reference to the number of reports in *The Courier Mail* re cost over-runs, lack of productivity, and all the issues that directly influence how contractors go about doing their daily business. It behoves the QMCA and other industry Associations to make their point to the public and the press.

The CEO commented that QMCA will produce a productivity paper in 2024 and include IR as part of that – productivity and what it means to the general tax payer – focus on things the community can see.

The Board thanked Brett Smiley, as retiring Chair, for his contribution to the Association and to retiring Board members Hollie Hynes and Will MacDonald for their expertise. The Board also thanked Andrew Chapman, Lorelei Broadbent and James Flaherty.

8. CLOSE OF MEETING

There being no further business, the Chair closed the meeting at 5.20pm.