QMCA Orange Logomark


Following today’s AGM, QMCA is delighted to announce the appointment of a new Chair and board members, with Brett Smiley of Fulton Hogan appointed Chair of the Association’s board and David Balmer of Acciona elected Deputy Chair.

On his appointment, Mr Smiley acknowledged the importance of the role: “I am delighted and honoured to have been elected Chair of QMCA. QMCA has a vital role to play representing the needs of the state’s contracting industry, our valued clients and stakeholders in the supply chain.”

“Queensland currently has a $62 billion pipeline of major projects set to transform the state over the next five years. In addition, the 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games will further stimulate investment into critical transport and social infrastructure. Therefore QMCA must continue to champion our sector and lead positive change as we support innovation and sustainability. I look forward to leading the Association’s continued advocacy as the voice of the industry.”

Mr Smiley paid tribute to and thanked outgoing Chair John Kirkwood for his leadership of QMCA. “On behalf of QMCA and our members, I would like to thank John for his leadership, passion and commitment for QMCA and our industry.”

“Under John’s stewardship, QMCA has achieved great things advocating for our industry, developing partnerships with industry associations, launching the Charter for Change and increasing collaboration and industry engagement with government and private clients. John’s leadership was critical to QMCA’s ongoing development and success.”

Joining the board are new members Hollie Hynes of Laing O’Rourke and Will MacDonald of Seymour Whyte.

“I would also like to take the opportunity to thank Paul Milne for his service as a board member and welcome Hollie and Will to the board. Each board member has a vital role to play alongside CEO Andrew Chapman, to advocate for our sector, lead our working groups and ensure that QMCA continues to be the peak body for construction and infrastructure in Queensland.”

The full board of QMCA is:

  • Chair – Brett Smiley, Fulton Hogan
  • Deputy Chair – David Balmer, Acciona
  • Secretary – Terry Waterson, BMD
  • Treasurer – Gillian White, CPB
  • Board Member – Adam Edwards, Bielby Holdings
  • Board Member – Brent Maas, Clough
  • Board Member – Damian Kelliher, Decmil
  • Board Member –  Gary Georgiou, Georgiou
  • Board Member – Dale Gilbert, Ghella
  • Board Member – Ryan Dodd, John Holland
  • Board Member – Hollie Hynes, Laing O’Rourke
  • Board Member – Ryan Baden, Martinus
  • Board Member – Daryl Young, McConnell Dowell
  • Board Member – Will MacDonald, Seymour Whyte

Our members.

Acciona Infrastructure Australia
Bielby Holdings
BMD Constructions
CPB Contractors
Decmil Group Limited
Fulton Hogan
Georgiou Group
John Holland
Laing O’Rourke
Martinus Rail Pty Ltd
McConnell Dowell
Seymour Whyte Constructions