QMCA Orange Logomark

QMCA Ian Harrington Award

The Ian Harrington Award, is intended to recognise an individual or team from a QMCA member company that has “gone above and beyond” in its collaboration to achieve an outstanding result.


The collaboration can have taken place at any stage of a project lifecycle. Alternatively, the collaboration can have occurred outside of a project environment, at an industry or research level, where the creation and sharing of knowledge has had a beneficial impact on the civil infrastructure sector.

Ian Harrington

This award has been created in celebration of Ian Harrington and his contribution to the Queensland civil infrastructure sector. In particular, his commitment to improving and increasing collaboration within the industry.

With a career that spanned over 45 years, Ian’s achievements have helped shape many of the QMCA member businesses into the major contractors they are today.

This award recognises Ian’s passion for collaborative working and his focus on giving back by transferring his knowledge to others.


To be eligible for the QMCA Ian Harrington Award, entrants/entries must adhere to the following criteria:

  • The collaboration must have been conducted between a team or individual employed by a QMCA member company and one or more of the following:
    • A client organisation,
    • A design consultant, subcontractor or supplier,
    • An industry group(s) and/or researcher institution.
  • The collaboration must have been conducted in the last two years.
  • Entrants must be based or have an office in Queensland.
  • The benefits of the collaboration must have been realised within the civil infrastructure sector in Queensland. Please note this includes industrial and resource projects but excludes residential or commercial building projects.
  • By submitting an entry, copyright for use of all entry materials is assigned to the QMCA. Information provided by entrants can be held in confidence at the applicants’ request. Please put this request in writing.

Key Dates

  • Submission closes Friday 9 August. A non-refundable entry fee of $2,000 (+ GST) is to be paid on submission via EFT.
  • Awards will be presented at QMCA’s annual Awards long lunch on Friday 13 September.

Evaluation Criteria

All criteria have an equal weighting. Each entry will be assessed on how it responds to the following criteria:

Criteria Description
Value creation. What benefits has the collaboration brought about? Who has benefitted? And how can those benefits be measured? For example, project success, business success, lower delivery cost, improved benefits realisation and improved business opportunity for the participants.
Impact What impact has the collaboration had on the wider civil infrastructure sector.
Sustainability Have the collaboration partners looked to extend their partnership based on initial collaboration?

The Process

Step 1 – Submission

All entrants must provide a clear and concise submission. Objective information should be provided to ensure the judges can appreciate the scope of the approach and degree of success obtained. All entrants must ensure the evaluation criteria requirements are addressed in their submissions. Entries will be judged based on the evaluation criteria.

The full submission will comprise of:

  • A written submission of 5,000 words maximum (including any attachments)
  • Written submission can be desktop published but must be submitted in pdf format. Font must be larger than Arial 10 font or equivalent sized font.
  • High resolution photographs submitted in jpg format, maximum 20 photos.
  • A video, maximum of 2.5 minutes, avi or .mp4 format.

Please email submissions to the QMCA Secretariat at admin@qmca.com.au.  Hard copies are not required. Submissions are due Friday 9 August 2019.

A non-refundable entry fee of $2,000 (+ GST) must accompany your submission and be EFT’d to QMCA at:

Bank Details

  • NAB
  • BSB: 084 424
  • Account No: 12395 1076
  • Account Name: Queensland Major Contractors Association

Step 2 – Judging

Once submissions close on Friday 9 August, all submitted entries will be provided to the judges.

The judging panel will present their final recommendations to the QMCA Board for consideration and acceptance.

Step 3 – Presentation of the Award

The winner will be announced at the annual QMCA Awards long-lunch on Friday 13 September at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, South Bank.

The QMCA Award event has grown to become a major industry function on the Brisbane calendar and this year we expect the event to sell-out at over 500 leaders from the contracting, engineering, consulting, government and industry environments.

The MC for the long lunch will be Petrina Macpherson. The lunch will also feature a presentation from Josie Thomson, a mindset, resilience and change expert.


Our members.

Acciona Infrastructure Australia
Bielby Holdings
BMD Constructions
CPB Contractors
Decmil Group Limited
Fulton Hogan
Georgiou Group
John Holland
Laing O’Rourke
Martinus Rail Pty Ltd
McConnell Dowell
Seymour Whyte Constructions